Welcome Lobsters!

Hello World!

In an effort to better brand my personal training and endurance sport coaching business (Big Sky Multisport Coaching & Personal Training), I have decided to create a personal blog to separate out the more personal stuff from my triathlon and fitness interests. Thus, welcome to Diaries of a Wandering Lobster.

Apparently branding is important in this new technological world. Not just within the blog world, but also in marketing, business, and career. I love triathlons and fitness and I will continue to write about my adventures as a multiport coach and athlete, but over the past six months I have really begun to realize who I am as a person. I have a vast amount of interests outside of sport that I want to share. I’ll be honest, as much as I love writing about triathlons, I secretly want to be a travel blogger. Of course, that requires the ability to be able to travel.

I have some big plans in the next few years. I’ve begun to put my ducks in a line to get where I ultimately want to be in my life in the next 5-10 years. I’ve discovered that I want to write about things that affect me personally, such as paying off student debt, living frugally, traveling the world, and my home state of Maine.

I have my first real career job in the healthcare technology industry that I love. I never thought it was an area of interest while I was working on my MPH degree, but I know my future career path will involve HIT at some capacity. Over the next few years in my job I hope to grow career wise and personally, to develop new skills, and be a part of something bigger – health reform in the United States.

I’ve set some pretty aggressive personal finance goals over the next three years. I’ve discovered that I love budgeting and I have become completely obsessed with it. Who knew budgeting could be so fun? I graduated grad school in December 2012 with just over $40,000 of combined undergrad and grad student loan debt. I plan to go back for my PhD in the next 5 years and hope to have a large majority of those loans paid off by my return to school.

I love to travel. I’m not one of those people that go on a tropical vacation and stay at an all-inclusive resort drinking fruity umbrella drinks by the pool. I want to see and experience new cultures, new foods, and new places through the eyes of the locals. My international travel experiences are not anything to write home about yet – I’ve been to Canada, Italy, Costa Rica, and Nicaragua. I’ll be backpacking Belize and Guatemala in May with one of my best friends and planning on a volunteer mission to Africa in 2015.

Over the next few weeks you’ll see a mix of new posts with some old posts originally posted on Big Sky Multisport Coaching & Personal Training as I transition them over to the Diaries of a Wandering Lobster. I hope you stick around and enjoy the ride as much as I will. Welcome to my crazy, hectic life.

~ Katelyn

Leave a Reply

