27 Goals for my 27th Year

Reagan has nothing to do with this post, but who doesn't like cute pictures of dogs?
Reagan has nothing to do with this post, but who doesn’t like cute pictures of dogs?

I have officially entered my late 20s as of this past Saturday. I will admit; I’m still in denial that I’m now 27 years old. Where has the time gone?

Looking back a decade ago, when I was just a wee 17 year old high school girl, I never predicted I’d be where I’m at now in my life. I pictured my life so much different than it is today. But is that a bad thing? I have a Masters in Public Health. I have completed my first Ironman. I have experienced losing a parent at a young age. I have had many ups and downs on the roller coaster of life.

My life may not be the so-called dream that I thought it would be when I was 17. But that’s life. I am content and happy where I am in my life. Could things be better? Sure. Could things be far worst? Of course!

Within the past year I finally feel like I found myself and what path I really want to pursue in life. Totally cliché I know! It amazes me that as the older I get, the more I grow as a human being. What I wanted at 17 is different than what I wanted at 21. What I wanted at 21 was different than what I wanted at 25 and so forth. I’m sure when I hit 30 than I will want other things in life as well. I believe that we evolve as we age and become wiser and better people. I finally feel that I have outgrown my immature ways and view the world differently. I don’t expect the world to cater to my needs; instead, I must work hard and consistently to meet my own needs.

I’ve decided that each year on my birthday I am going to set goals based on my age number to accomplish by my next birthday. I’m a very goal-oriented person so setting goals makes me happy; but I think it will also help me in my pursuit for my ultimate career and life goals.

So, without ado… here are my 27 goals for my 27th year:
  1. Travel to a new country
  2. Learn French (or begin the process)
  3. Take a class for fun on something new that interest me
  4. Help write a grant proposal at work
  5. Land my first paying freelance job
  6. Learn to take quality pictures with my new DSLR
  7. Volunteer more
  8. Learn to deal with stress better
  9. Pay off at least $5000 of my student loans
  10. Learn the basics of investing
  11. Stick to my budget
  12. Reconnect with some old friends
  13. Grow a small vegetable garden
  14. Experience a new city
  15. Try an adult rowing class
  16. Write more often
  17. Help write an article for publication at work
  18. Grow my personal training and endurance sport coaching business
  19. Enjoy our family camp at the lake more
  20. Start studying for the GREs
  21. Hike Mt. Washington
  22. Spend more time reading
  23. Find something good in everyday
  24. Learn to cook a new recipe each month
  25. Become better at meal prepping on the weekends
  26. To have a Fall running season
  27. To enjoy the year as I’ll be another year older next year

Leave a Reply

