The Time My Car Died and I Had to Buy a New One…

I’ve mentioned several times in my previous blog posts that my big purchase this year was going to be a new car. I purchased a 2000 Hyundai Elantra during the summer of 2006. I worked two jobs the entire summer (without a semblance of a life) to pay for the car. I think I paid about $5000 for the car.

As you can imagine, the older a car gets, the more repairs and money you have to put into them. The past three years have yielded expensive repairs, i.e. a new timing belt, a new clutch, a new alternator, etc. In January I put $400 into my car to get her to past inspection and to hopefully last till December, which was my target purchase date.

Saying goodbye... and taking my plates off
Saying goodbye… and taking my plates off

Well, my poor little car couldn’t make it till December. Last Monday night she died on my way home from work. I was within 3 miles from my house when I stopped at a stop sign before making a righthand turn towards home. My poor little car decided that the stop sign would be her final resting stop. She actually wouldn’t start the friday night before in our driveway, but succeed to start the next morning. I knew something was up, but I was hoping that it was just a fluke.

I called AAA for a tow truck and a nice man pushed my car around the corner so I wasn’t blocking the intersection. Talk about embarrassing! Our trusted family mechanic looked at my car and thought it was the fuel pump. It could have been fixed for about $250, but at this point in my car’s life, I feel like I’m throwing dollar bills down the drain. I decided my money is best spent on purchasing a new car.

I did a lot of research online. I was between the Hyundai Elantra, Ford Focus, Toyota Corolla, and VW Jetta. My budget was about $15,000 (and I was secretly hoping that I could purchase a car plus pay all the tax and fees with the $15,000). I was leaning towards a new car because I couldn’t find too many low mileage used cars. Most used cards I found were priced about the same as a new car.

I checked one of the local car dealer’s website on Thursday morning and found a web special for a left-over 2013 Hyundai Elantra. It was a standard hatchback model. I was hoping to purchase another standard because they tend to be a bit cheaper and not many people want a standard and thus I could probably get a better deal than an automatic. I test drove the car Thursday night. I drove home picked up my Father and had him test drive it as well. We drove back to the dealer and talked pricing with the sales lady. I wasn’t pleased with the presented price and left giving them my bottom line. She said she had to talk to her manager and would call me in the morning.

I got a call at 9am on Friday when the dealership was open. She was willing to bring the price down to my budget. I told her I wanted the offer in writing and would call her back later once she faxed the offer to me. I called my Father to discuss the offer and he suggested that I fill out the car loan application at the credit union and get an insurance quote. I did both and then accepted the offer.

This morning I went back to the dealer with my loan check and my down payment check. The whole process of buying a car is stressful. I’ve been sick with a cold all week and adding on the job of buying a new car has left me feeling still like crap. But, I learned a few lessons about buying a car and hopefully I won’t be using them anytime soon! The dealership tried to quote the price of the car to me in monthly payments. Sure, I could afford their offer, but I wanted to know the true cost of the car! Watch out for this. If you extend a car loan to 72 months then of course your monthly payments will be smaller!

Also, make sure you get everything in writing. I would also suggest getting insurance quotes before purchase as well. You don’t want any expensive surprises later on when you realize that the fancy car you just purchased is going to cost a lot more than the more reliable and plain car.

I lucked out and got a good price on my new car. I probably could have negotiated another $500 off the price, but I just wanted the process to be over. I had a few things working in my favor as well. The car was a 2013 leftover. It was standard. It was the end of March, which means the end of a month, the end of a quarter, and then end of the fiscal year for most car manufacturers and dealers! I couldn’t quite get them to agree to everything including tax and fees under $15,000, but I’m happy with my total price.

The final goodbye (and time to buy a new Ironman sticker)
The final goodbye (and time to buy a new Ironman sticker)

My mechanic has offered to fix and sell my old for me with a cut of the sale. Totally fine by me! I’ll be lucky to get a couple hundred bucks, but it’s better than nothing! I was a bit sad to say my final goodbye to my old friend. We had a good almost 8 years and 100,000+ miles. I think I got my moneys worth from that car. Now, onto better and more adult-like things, like a monthly car payment….

2 thoughts on “The Time My Car Died and I Had to Buy a New One…

Leave a Reply

