April Challenge: Living on Food Stamps

AprilChallenge

No, I’m not actually living on food stamps or now called Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). I do not qualify for food stamps or assistance nor would I utilize them unless I was in a bad situation and I had no other options. I believe that food stamps and any welfare assistance should be available to those that truly need the help to survive.

When I first began budgeting, I wasn’t sure what my monthly food budget should be. It’s just me (and well, my dog, but she has her own separate budget category although she likes to think I share my food with her). I estimated $300 for grocery, $80 combined for restaurants, coffee shops and bars. That seems like a lot of money for a single person. Now that I have a monthly car payment (you can read about my new car purchase experience HERE), I’m looking to cut back on my food expenses.

I did some research to determine how much the average American spends on food monthly. A 2012 Gallup Poll survey determined that the average American family spends about $151 a week for food. The survey also revealed that the average young adult (cough, cough… Me) spends about $173 a week in food. That means the average young adult spends about $692 in food a month! Yikes! I definitely know people who probably spend this amount or more in food for just themselves in a month.

I rarely eat out for food. I generally spend less than $350 a month in food. I rarely go out to dinner so my restaurant budget is normally $0. However, March was a busy and expensive month this year. My birthday was in March so I went out with a few friends, which obviously killed both my restaurant and bar budget. I also bribed my father with pizza and beer to come to the dealership with me to buy my car. It was $44 well spent I think. I almost always bring my lunch and snacks to work, but usually once a week I get tired of what I bring and grab lunch somewhere. I also stop at Starbucks a few times a month.

All those small purchases add up over a period of time! During my food budget research I discovered the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)’s Official Food Plans: Cost of Food at Home at Four Levels reports. The USDA’s Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion tracks each month what the average person spends on food and reports out the figures to the public. SNAP benefits for individuals and families are calculated using the “thrifty plan.” Although this site indicates how much you might qualify (for a single person you can get up to $189 a month). In January 2014, the average female aged 19-50 spent $37.90 a week on food using the “thrifty plan.”

For the month of April I am challenging myself to live on $37.90 a week on food. This would be the same allotted to me if I were to be on SNAP. I’m not allowed to go out to eat or stop at any coffee shops. The only exception is if I have to travel for work and cannot take food with me, which at this point I don’t think will be much of an issue. I am doing this challenge for two reasons: 1) I am trying to save money and to see if I can truly reduce my monthly food bill, and 2) I want to see what it is like to be on SNAP and if it’s possible to eat healthy. As a public health professional, I’m well aware of the major issue of having healthy food options at a low price. Most of the healthier options are too expensive for a family on SNAP and thus they buy cheap, processed food leading to obesity in the low-socioeconomic population.

I’m giving myself two rules:

  1. I can only spend $37.90 a week on food
  2. I’m allowed to use food that I have in my cupboards and freezer (this could be viewed as cheating but I’m going with it)

Each week I will check in with purchases, what I ate and how things went. I encourage you to try my April Challenge as well!

5 thoughts on “April Challenge: Living on Food Stamps

  1. Okay. I can tell you eating gluten free and mostly fresh fruits and veggies this will not be possible for me. I might make it on $50 but even that would be hard. Good Luck to you!

    1. It will definitely be interesting! I normally average around $50 most weeks, but sometimes I have a more expensive week if I have to buy Peanut Butter, Olive Oil, etc.

Leave a Reply

