2014 Summer Book Challenge

I’m excited! Through some of the other blogs I read I came across the 2014 Summer Book Challenge sponsored by Semi-Charmed Kind of Life. I’ve always been an avid reader, even from a young age. When I was in elementary school and just starting to ride horses, my mother signed me up for The Saddle Club book club. Each month I received 4 books from the series. And every month, I would devour the books in a matter of hours.

I went to an all-girls Catholic high school where we were expected to read between 15-20 books each school year in our English courses. That does not include any other book we have to read in our other classes. Some books I loved, other books I hated. I will forever hate Jane Austen. I just can’t stand to read any of her books. #sorrynotsorry

I read a fair about of books now. Most of the books are on work-related topics, such as health policy and global health. I’ve had a stack of books next to my bed that has been growing for years. Someday I will finish each and every one of them. I’m hoping this challenge might help me tackle that pile.

The Challenge Categories:

5 points: Freebie! Read any book that is at least 200 pages long. – Cholesterol Clarity: What the HDL is Worng with my Numbers? by Jimmy Moore
10 points: Read a book that was written before you were born. – 1984 by George Orwell (first published in 1949)
10 points: Finish reading a book you couldn’t finish the first time around. – Chi Running by Danny Dreyer
10 points: Read a book from the children’s section of the library or bookstore. – Le Petit Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupery (both French and English verisons)
15 points: Read a book that is on The New York Times‘ Best Sellers List when you begin reading it. – TBD
15 points:
 Read a historical fiction book that does not take place in Europe. – TBD
15 points: Read a book another blogger has already read for the challenge. TBD
20 points: Read a book with “son(s),” “daughter(s)” or “child(ren)” in the title. – TBD
20 points: Read a book that was/will be adapted to film in 2014. – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
25 points: Read a book written by a blogger. – How to Travel the World on $50 a Day by Matt Kepnes (Nomadicmatt.com)
25 points: Read a biography, autobiography or memoir. – TBD
30 points: Read a pair of books with antonyms in the titles. – TBD

I’m hoping to get through a few books on my vacation to Belize and Guatemala in a few weeks. Any book recommendations?

2 thoughts on “2014 Summer Book Challenge

Leave a Reply

